103.3 WZND Fuzed Radio

Current track



Current show


2:00 am 7:00 am

Bloomington City Council elects four new aldermen

Written by on April 3, 2019

BLOOMINGTON – Just under 10% of registered voters had their voice heard in the Bloomington municipal election on Tuesday. They elected four new aldermen into City Council

Donna Boelen defeated Georgene Chissell by recieving 59.9% of the votes for Ward 2 Alderman. Julie Emig was elected to be the Ward 4 Alderman after having 60.16% of the votes over Don Frank.

In a close race, Jenn Carillo recieved 53.09% of the votes to become the new alderman of Ward 6. She defeated the current alderman and Mayor Pro Tem Karen Schmidt. The final alderman spot was taken by Jeff Crabill who racked up under 74% of the votes for the position.

The Unit 5 School Board will also have some familiar faces, as Michael Trask was re-elected in a close race, earning 50.98% of the votes for a 2 year term. This is the second time Trask has been re-elected and he currently serves as the Vice President of the School Board.

Amy Roser, Kelly Pyle, and Alan Kalitzky were also elected to the board after being appointed in 2018.  All three will serve four-year terms in addition to re-elected President Barry Hitchens.