103.3 WZND Fuzed Radio

Current track



Current show


10:00 pm 11:59 pm

ISU celebrates Founder’s Day

Written by on February 19, 2024

Image courtesy of Illinois State University

NORMAL, Ill. – On Thursday, February 15, Illinois State University held its annual Founder’s Day celebration. The event began with the bell ringing tradition and proceeded with a faculty and staff appreciation luncheon and awards ceremony.

As the program commenced, President for the Division of Student Affairs Dr. Levester Johnson welcomed the audience to the Brown Ballroom. He introduced Interim President Dr. Aondover Tarhule to share his opening remarks.

“I ask that you consider this day a day of celebration. It is a celebration of our traditions, but it is also a promise to elevate the precision of our staff and faculty on this campus,” Tarhlue said. “Our efforts to honor your work is growing.”

Dr. Levester Johnson returned to the podium to begin the awards presentation.

Awards and their recipients include:

• Outstanding University Service Award: Dr. Lea Cline, Wonsook Kim School of Art
• Service Initiative Awards: Dr. Michael Hendricks, Politics and Government and Dr. Byron Craig, School of Communication
• David A. Strand Diversity Achievement Award: Dr. Byron Craig, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
• Environmental Stewardship Award: Redbird Village Homecoming
• Civil Service Distinguished Service Awards: Cindy Greskiwcz, College of Applied Science and Technology and Andrew Witt, Facilities Management
• Administrative/Professional Distinguished Service Awards: Jennifer Sedbrook, Development, Debbie Fox, College of Arts and Sciences, Kristie Toohill, Facilities Management, and Molly Knapp, Psychology
• Administrative/Professional Emerging Leader Award: Ingrid Brown, School of Communication
• Civil Service/Administrative Professional Esprit de Corps Award: Samantha Lowry, Civil Service, Alumni Engagement

The final award, Team Excellence, was accompanied by $3,000, with honorable mentions receiving $1,000. This year’s honorable mentions included Redbird Buzz and The Improved Prospective Student Experience in Mind. The 2024 winner was Pass It On.

Illinois State University will celebrate 168 years of tradition and accomplishments in 2025.